How To Maintain A PMP Certification – Complete Guide

Project Management Professional (PMP) is considered to be one of the most recognized certifications in the field of project management. Every person who is in this field is recommended to have a PMP certification in order to gain all the necessary knowledge and also excel in their career by improving their income. Today, employers generally look for PMP certified candidates and it has a lot of demand.

How To Maintain A PMP Certification


Once a candidate is PMP certified, it is very important to maintain that certification. The PMP certification of a candidate shows that he or she has acquired all the necessary skills and knowledge. He or she has met all the eligibility requirements and is dedicated to his or her profession. Now that you have acquired this certification, it is extremely important to remain inactive status in order to enhance your credentials. 

Professional Development Units (PDU):

Once you’ve earned the credential, it is extremely important to retain it throughout your career. Therefore, this can be done by fulfilling certain PMP PDUs. In order to maintain their certification, professionals have to earn around 60 PDUs over a time period of 3 years. 

Professional Development Units are considered to be the time periods that a candidate spends in teaching, learning or volunteering. When the PMP Certification is awarded by PMI, the Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) cycle begins and ends after three years. So within this time period, the candidate is expected to earn PDUs. If the candidate has started earning PDUs, he or she can access the CCR online system and request for renewal of the certification. 


Certified Associate In Project Management (CAPM) certification: 

This is an alternative technique provided by PMI, which can be considered to maintain the PMP certification. PDUs are not involved in this method. You can earn the CAPM certification to maintain PMP by appearing for the exam in every five years. This method may not be suitable for all. 

Classification of PDUs:

PMI has brought in a particular classification for PDUs known as the talent triangle. The candidates are required to earn at least 9 PDUs in each classification.  

  1. Technical 
  2. Leadership
  3. Strategic 

The talent triangle is extremely important in order to earn the additional skill set required for the modern competitive world. This is a great chance for the candidates to explore new areas and earn all the relevant skills. 


Earning PDUs: 

As mentioned earlier, the candidates have to earn 60 PDUs within 3 years to maintain their certification. This task is considered to be a simple one if proper plans are made. The candidates can develop road maps in order to attain these PDUs without missing any opportunities. You can earn these PDUs by taking up e learning courses or by participating in the activities conducted by the PMI community. The candidates will be awarded a PDU on a 60 minute basis. Given below are some tips to complete the task of earning PDUs without a delay 

  • It is extremely important to plan your work. Each candidate should have a strong strategy in order to achieve this task effectively.  
  • The candidates should record all the tasks and activities performed in a personal folder. By doing this, progress can be measured. 
  • It is important to report the completion of activities in order to earn a PDU as and when completed. This can be done by using the CCR online system tool. 
  • It is also important to transfer the number of PDUs earned from one cycle to the next cycle. About 20 PDUs can be transferred.  
  • It is important to have a registered program number of REP classes in order to access the CCR system online.